Chicken Skin Disease or Keratosis Pilaris

It has been more than six months having this rough bumpy skin in my upper arms.  Not painful but not good to look at either. I ignored it at first thinking it will just go away and I associate it allergies. I become more conscious of its appearance as it worsens and rougher. It looks like a chicken skin. A friend of mine told me one day that I should not be scared or nervous. I was so calm at that time. I asked her what made think I was scared. She simply replied, “you are having goosebumps, look at your skin!” That was the time decided to take any action as the chicken skin worse.

kp

Chicken skin disease or Keratosis Pilaris can happen to anyone and is a common skin disorder. It is not a symptom of cancer or any life threating disease. Topical use of ointments, steroids will not instantly cure it. Also, it is not curable but with constant exfoliation and deep moisturization, it improves over time.

There are no other symptoms or complications for Keratosis Pilaris. It is also not contagious. The causes are unknown. But, just to make sure see your dermatologist.

If you want to know what I did, I bought a luffa, spa salt and a deep moisturizing lotion. I use the spa salt and luffa 4x a week in my morning bath and the deep moisturizing lotion every day. It took a month before my skin starts improving. I also take multivitamins.

16111793_10208520749884879_1699510399_n

I hope I was able to shed some light on your chicken skin problem 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

